Liebster Awards 2015

liebsteraward-e1423141126279.png

Last night, Vikki of Virtual Vikki nominated us as a Liebster Awardee, a new way of discovering blogs and making new blogger friends. I was unaware of this up until last night and this morning when Sarah messaged me, saying that we should answer this. Thank you Vikki for recognizing & loving our baby and we hope to get to know all of you!

Rules of the Liebster:

1. Thank the person who tagged/nominated you.

2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.

3. Make 11 questions for your nominees.

4. Tag/Nominate 11 bloggers to answer your questions.

After some hours of answering, here are our answers to all of Vikki’s questions! Also, feel free to visit the blogs that we nominate for the Liebster Awards!

1. Why did you start blogging?

S: I started my first blog when I was about twelve years old (Xanga days!). Originally, I started doing it because I loved the idea of having an open diary that I could write in and share with my friends. I’ve been obsessed ever since (Xanga, Multiply, Tumblr, Blogger, WordPress, etc. Search hard enough and you’ll find a blog I owned many many light years ago… but please don’t do that).

For this specific blog, I believe that Gianna and I started it because we wanted to share our experiences as two best friends living miles apart. We mostly share our personal experiences on here but underneath all that, I believe our blog holds a higher purpose. What we want to share is our experiences of having this long distance friendship in a very crucial time in our lives (Teenage hormones to quarter-life crises.. ’nuff said) and it would be interesting to see how our lives would change as we grow older. (For now, it’s a big FU to Adulting).

G: When I was young, I really loved writing things down in my diary or journal. I remember that I used to be so diligent in writing so many things down that it took me so many pages to write down the happenings of a certain day. Some days consisted of so many ramblings and others were not that memorable. To sum it all up, writing down on my diary became a good & healthy habit for me to express my feelings. I started blogging during the ancient times of Xanga. Does anyone still remember that? Haha! After Xanga, I moved to the now inexistent Multiply then moved to Tumblr. I actually have two Tumblr accounts; the first is ohnanagianna, my very first Tumblr account since 2009/2010 (but already inactive), and the second is Cherry Lips, Crystal Skies, which I made last year because I wanted to get back to blogging. That second Tumblr account is now only active because it is connected to my Instagram and I may have already forgotten the password to that account hehe.

2. If you were to describe yourself in one word, what would it be?

S: Dreamer.

I think that that word best describes me as a person. I hardly remember any of the dreams I have when I sleep at night but almost every single second of my waking hours is spent daydreaming. I used to daydream so much that it would hurt my head and make me mad that my daydreams aren’t real. Luckily, I found creative writing, which helps me put my ideas on paper and turn them into micro fiction, flash fiction, short stories, and even novels.

G: Clingy.

Don’t be scared of the word. More often that not, that word has been given a negative connotation. I would like to think that there is still something positive about that

3. What is your favorite book, movie and series? (So I can check it out! Hihi.)

S: The first book series that I would recommend to anyone in a heartbeat (aside from Harry Potter because that needs no recommendation) is Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Don’t be turned off by the title, this series is far from mediocre and I cannot thank my good friend and walking library, Erin, enough for slipping this book in the big pile of novels I asked to borrow off of her back in high school. I would also recommend Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs and any book written by Haruki Murakami (brilliant writer).

I only really watch anime and aside from my all-time faves (Naruto, Fairy Tail, and Detective Conan), I would say that Assassination Classroom, Kuroko no Basuke, and Haikyuu are my favourites this year.

G: My favorite book would have to be Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho. It is a book that I recommend to anyone who is anyone, especially if that someone has not read any of Coelho’s works.

As regards my favorite movie, it would have to be Moulin Rouge starring Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman. I actually based my 18th birthday party on this movie because I will never get tired of seeing it onscreen and listening to its soundtrack.

Lastly, my favorite series of Grey’s Anatomy mainly because I have been a fan of Meredith x Derek from the start. Shonda Rhimes is one of God’s great blessings in Hollywood and regardless of the times that I really wanted to boycott this series because of what happens to my beloved characters, I just can’t seem to let them all go.

4. What is the first thing you look at when you meet someone? Why?

S: Their lips.

Because I like to see how well of a smile the person will give me. I especially like smirks… I have a smirk fetish. 😉

G: His/her outfit for that day. HAHA. It sounds a wee bit superficial but I believe that a person’s outfit can also be a reflection of the person’s personality and mood for that day.

5. If you can fly to anywhere in the world, where would you go? Why?

S: Japan. Because I’ve always been fascinated by Japanese culture, especially their history and food… and men, I mean ramen. I’m also part Japanese. Not many people know this but my grandfather is actually Japanese. I mean, have you seen my father? He looks like Ken Watanabe’s long lost brother.Yurusarezaru-Mono-Ken-Watanabe-e1373809878896.jpg

G: Tough question. Hnnng.

I choose… Italy. Or Spain. Or France. Any of those three. Why? History, food, culture, fashion and most specially the architecture.

6. What is your guilty pleasure?

S: Binge watching an anime series while drinking an entire bottle of wine by myself! Ha!

G: When I’m on burrito mode, it’ll be binge watching tv shows. But if I’m my usual self, going out alone.

7. What is your daily mantra? 

S: I don’t really have one specific mantra that I tell myself daily but I do talk to God daily and that always puts me in a good mood.

G: Change is constant (because even my daily mantra changes depending on the situation hahahaha).

8. If you weren’t a/an *insert whatever your current profession is*, what would you be? Why?

S: Good question.

Up until about a year ago, I wasn’t completely sure of what I wanted to be. I have always enjoyed writing and immersing myself into fictional worlds but the thought of making a career out of it was beyond me at the time. It caused me to walk straight on this path that others guaranteed led to success, even though I had this nagging feeling that I’m wasting the life God gave me. Then something wonderful happened in November 2014; I met Mazie, who introduced me to a wonderful group of writers, editors, and readers, who have helped inspire and improve my writing. #NiagaraWritersGuildForLife!

So to answer the question, if I wasn’t a writer, I would continue to go back and forth between a limited number of paths that others suggest to me. Not exciting at all.

G: I would probably be a model or fashion designer. I love taking photos and I love being in photos (ha, if a certain person would hear this statement again he would be laughing so hard) so it’s kind of a no-brainer that I would want to be a model. Plus, when I was really young I was into designing clothes so there was a point in time that I really did consider becoming a fashion designer.

(Sarah: I remember when Gianna wanted to be a fashion designer… fun times)

9. If you can bring anyone back to life, who would it be? Why?

S: My grandmother because I miss her and she’s one of the most influential people in my life. Whenever I think about giving up on something, I hear her yell out “Ay, unggoy!” at me and suddenly, I don’t want to give up because I don’t want to be an unggoy. 

G: None. I think that one lifetime is enough to live through all the challenges that a person can endure.

10. If I gave you a genie bottle which can grant three of your wishes, what would you wish for and why? (And no, you can’t wish for more wishes! Haha!)

S: Clever, I was going to ask for more wishes. Haha.

I wish for world peace (seriously, I’m not trying to sound like a Miss Universe candidate, I really do wish for world peace), a major book publisher’s attention, and the ability to jump into the world of the novels I read (and stuff I watch).

G: First wish would be to lessen my laziness because laziness in law school is a big no-no; Second, take away my asthma because seriously I am 23 years old and I want to try new things without having to worry about triggering my asthma therefore making me super sickly; Lastly, world peace because the world seriously needs a chill pill. I don’t want my future kids to be scared of growing up in this world.

11. Why do you love yourself?

S: Because I’m the best person on earth 😀

G: Because I should. 🙂


Questions:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What was your blogging inspiration
  3. What’s your favourite food? we need to ask this because we’re Nom Nom Monster and Nyam Nyam Monster
  4. What is your favourite virtue?
  5. Who is you hero?
  6. What is something you cannot live without?
  7. What is your favourite book/movie/show?
  8. If you won the lottery what’s the first thing you’d buy?
  9. What was the last movie you saw and how did you like it?
  10. Where do you go when you need time to yourself?
  11. What’s your favourite place?

And the nominees are…

  1. Mazie http://theselittlepieces.com
  2. Rebecca http://beccasbookaffair.blogspot.ca
  3. Terry http://writecreateconnect.blogspot.ca
  4. Gianna http://missgiannamaree.tumblr.com (Sarsi nominates Gianna)
  5. Sarah https://littlemisssarsi.wordpress.com (Gianna nominates Sarsi)
  6. Pooja https://booksarica.wordpress.com
  7. K. Dailey http://dkdailey.com
  8. Spencer http://spencertoth.ca
  9. Fam http://scribblesbyfamedina.wordpress.com
  10. Melodia http://evamarie41.blogspot.ca
  11. Kinta https://bookowly.wordpress.com

Leave a comment